Board of Trustees

The board of trustees of the Scottish Jazz Archive is made up of individuals with a range of expertise and experience from academia, music journalism and the jazz scene.

Haftor Medbøe (Chair)
Haftor is Professor of Music at Edinburgh Napier University, remaining active as a musician on the jazz & improvised music scenes. He holds a position on the Board of Directors, Edinburgh Jazz & Blues Festival

Norrie Thomson (Treasurer)
Norrie co-founded Edinburgh Jazz n Jive Club and was for thirty years responsible for logistics at Edinburgh Jazz & Blues Festival.

Marian Jago (Secretary)
Marian is currently Senior Lecturer in Popular Music & Jazz Studies at the University of Edinburgh, is Editor-in-Chief of the journal Jazz Perspectives, has authored a book on Canadian jazz history entitled Jazz at the Cellar, and was a student of saxophonist Lee Konitz for many years. 

Graham Blamire
Graham is a jazz musician and author of the book, Edinburgh Jazz Enlightenment – The Story of Edinburgh Traditional Jazz.

Pedro Cravinho
Pedro is a Senior Research Fellow at Birmingham Centre for Media and Cultural Research, co-leading the Jazz Research Cluster, and the Keeper of Archives, at Birmingham City University. He is a trustee for the National Jazz Archive and Archives West Midlands and a Duke Ellington Society UK board member.

Sue McKenzie
Sue is a saxophonist and educator. She is director of the Edinburgh Napier Jazz Summer School, run in association with Edinburgh Jazz & Blues Festival.

John Youngs
John is a traditional jazz musician and promoter, performing across Scotland and the UK. He graduated with a BMus(hons) from the University of Edinburgh in 2012.

Stewart Smith
Stewart is a freelance music and arts journalist, regularly contributing to The Wire, Tribune, The Quietus and The List. He holds an academic post at Newcastle University.

Sonny Scott
Sonny is a final-year undergraduate student of Music at Edinburgh Napier University where he is co-founder of the university’s Jazz Society.